Saint Elmo's Light by J Thomas Brown

Saint Elmo’s Light is a collection of thirteen short stories released in print January 19th, 2021. The blue-violet light of St. Elmo’s fire, caused by a molecular tearing apart of electrically charged plasma in the air, is brightest in the area of highest curvature such as at the ends of pointed objects like ship's masts and lightning rods.  The stories are concentrated in this electrically charged area of high curvature where phenomena are more intense.

The smell of rain is in the wind, mixed with the pungent odor of ozone. You are in for a stormy ride through a landscape cast in violet light.

The collection is distributed by Ingram and is available in most major chains and at independent bookstores.

Saint Elmo's Light at Book People Richmond

Saint Elmo's Light at Fountain Bookstore

Saint Elmo's Light on B & N

Saint Elmo's Light on Amazon


A collection of thirty-three poems released in print December of 2020. An outsider's look at a world that is both devastating and full of wonder. In this collection you will find joy, satire, pathos, magic, and the goblin spirit, duende. Some of the poems come from dreams, some from close encounters with the bending sickle. The closer the chine, the truer the line.

Review Quotes:

"Mooncalf is a fitting wanderer through this imaginative landscape from honeymoon, kings, sea turtle, and woodpecker to cowboy, Ice King, Homburg Hat and Starman. The poetry, however, is all but foolhardy as the book title, Mooncalf, might suggest. Poet J. Thomas Brown skillfully covers a wide range of topics from human greed, environmental crises, global politics, to minority neighborhood demolition and serial murder . . . I have kudos for each poem in this collection . . . "    --Patsy Asuncion, author of Cut on the Bias

“From the journey of new-born sea turtles to the drive-by death of a beloved cow, Brown is our myth-teller and guide through a universe that is both devastating and full of wonder, where politicians resemble villains of old, and poets (the keepers of hidden things) read their rhymes amid the grinding of coffee beans and meet their dooms in Viking halls . . . It makes me think we should all spend a little more time gazing at the moon.”   --Joanna S. Lee, author of Dissections

Fountain Books


Barnes and Noble in paperback and Nook

Amazon in paperback and Kindle


An audiobook of thirty-three poems published by Author's Republic. Narration in English with musical accompaniment by the author.

Order from Audiobooks

Order from

Order from Storytel